Mississippi State Facts

Mississippi Effective 7/24/2009   Federal Effective 7/24/2009

Mississippi Department of Labor Webpage

Mississippi Final Paycheck Law
Fired:                                                No law exists.
Quit: No law exists.
Mississippi Direct Deposit Law
Force Direct Deposit: Yes       
Mississippi Minimum Wage
Minimum Wage $7.25                    
Minimum Cash Wage(Tipped Employee) $2.13
Youth Minimum Wage $4.25
Mississippi State Income Tax
Wage Withholding    Tables
Mississippi Unemployment Insurance
Maximum 2022 Taxable Earnings(Unchanged from 2021) $14,000                                                                                                                                           
Employee 2022 Deduction None
Employer 2021 Tax Rates(Includes 0.2% workforce investment and training contribution rate) 0.2 – 5.6%
Standard 2021 New Employer Rate(New employers pay 1.2% in 1st year, 1.3% in 2nd year and 1.4% in 3rd year; includes 0.2% workforce investment and training contribution rate) 1.2- 1.4%