Download a PDF of Fast Facts for your Region

Although all Journey locations are locally owned and operated, we run payroll for all 50 states to accommodate our clients across the nation. Find federal rules for the categories listed below, and final paycheck, unemployment rates, links, and minimum wage per state on the interactive map.

Simply click your state to find the information. For wage withholding rates, unemployment rates, tipped minimum wage, and more, click your region’s Fast Facts PDF.

This information is provided as a starting point for your research and does not provide any legal, accounting, or financial advice.

Alabama

Alabama

Minimum Wage

No State Minimum Wage Law

Employers must comply with the federal minimum wage requirement of $7.25 per hour, effective July 24, 2009.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Private sector: yes, public sector: no

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: No law exists.
If employee quit: No law exists.
Alaska

Alaska

Minimum Wage

$9.89 per hour.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: Tips do not count toward the minimum wage in Alaska.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due within 3 working days after termination (not counting weekends, holidays and the actual day the employee was terminated).
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the next regular payday that is at least 3 days after the employer receives notice of the employee’s resignation.
Arizona

Arizona

Minimum Wage

$11.00 on and after January 1, 2019; and $12.00 on and after January 1, 2020.

Note: An employer generally may pay any employee who customarily and regularly receives tips or gratuities (a tipped employee) a wage up to $3.00 per hour less than the minimum wage if the employer can establish by its records that for each week, when adding tips received to wages paid, the employee received not less than the minimum wage for all hours worked.

Flagstaff: $12.00 an hour on and after January 1, 2019; $13.00 an hour on and after January 1, 2020; $15.00 an hour or $2.00 above the state minimum wage, whichever is greater, on and after January 1, 2021; $15.50 an hour or two dollars ($2.00) above the state minimum wage, whichever is greater, on and after January 1, 2022; and January 1, 2023 and on January 1 of successive years, by the increase in the cost of living. For any tipped employee, the employer may pay a cash wage up to: $2.50 per hour less than the city minimum wage on or after January 1, 2022; $2 per hour less than the city minimum wage on or after January 1, 2023; $1.50 per hour less than the city minimum wage on or after January 1, 2024; and $1 per hour less than the city minimum wage on or after January 1, 2025. Note: The employer may only pay this lower cash wage if the employer can establish that when adding tips received and retained to wages paid, the employee received at least the minimum wage for all hours worked and the employee has been informed in writing by the employer of the provisions of the law.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due on the earlier of:
  • Within 7 working days of the date of termination; or
  • The end of the next regular pay period.
If employee quit: When an employee quits, the employee must be paid in the usual manner all wages due the employee no later than the regular payday for the pay period during which the termination occurred. If requested by the employee, such wages must be paid by mail.
Arkansas

Arkansas

Minimum Wage

For employers with 4 or more employees, $9.25 per hour ($2.63 per hour for tipped employees), effective January 1, 2019. For employers with 4 or more employees, $10.00 per hour ($2.63 per hour for tipped employees), effective January 1, 2020. For employers with 4 or more employees, $11.00 per hour ($2.63 per hour for tipped employees), effective January 1, 2021.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due within 7 days of being terminated, if requested by the employee. Otherwise, the final paycheck is due on the next regularly scheduled payday.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the next regularly scheduled payday.
California

California

Minimum Wage

Employers with 25 or fewer employees: $11.00 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019. Employers with 26 or more employees: $12.00 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019.

Belmont: $13.50 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019; Berkeley: $15.00 per hour; Cupertino: $15.00 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019; El Cerrito: $15.00 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019; Emeryville: $15.00 per hour for employers with 55 or fewer employees, $15.69 per hour for employers with 56 or more employees; Los Altos: $15.00 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019; Los Angeles (city): Employers with 25 or fewer employees: $13.25 per hour, beginning July 1, 2019. Employers with 26 or more employees: $14.25 per hour, beginning July 1, 2019; Los Angeles (county): Employers with 25 or fewer employees: $13.25 per hour, beginning July 1, 2019. Employers with 26 or more employees: $14.25 per hour, beginning July 1, 2019; Malibu: Employers with 25 or fewer employees: $13.25 per hour, beginning July 1, 2019. Employers with 26 or more employees: $14.25 per hour, beginning July 1, 2019; Milpitas: $15.00 per hour, beginning July 1, 2019; Mountain View: $15.65 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019; Oakland: $13.80 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019; Palo Alto: $15.00 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019; Pasadena: $12.00 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees, $13.25 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees; Redwood City: $15.00 per hour plus any increase for inflation, beginning January 1, 2020; Richmond: $15.00 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019; San Diego: $12.00 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019; San Jose: $15.00 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019; San Leandro: $14.00 per hour, beginning July 1, 2019; San Mateo: $15.00 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019; Santa Clara: $15.00 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019; Santa Monica: Employers with 25 or fewer employees: $13.25 per hour, beginning July 1, 2019 Employers with 26 or more employees: $14.25 per hour, beginning July 1, 2019; Sunnyvale: $15.65 per hour, beginning January 1, 2019.

Special Note Regarding Minor Employees: The minimum wage in California is the same for both adult and minor employees. Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: Unlike federal regulations, California law does not permit an employer to use an employee's tips as a credit toward its obligation to pay the minimum wage. As a result, California employees must receive the minimum wage plus any tips left for them by patrons of the employer’s business.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: If an employee is involuntarily terminated, the final paycheck (including accrued vacation) is due immediately at the time of termination.
If employee quit: If the employee quits with at least 72 hours' notice, and quits on the day given in the notice, the final paycheck (including accrued vacation) must be provided at the time of quitting.
If the employee quits with less than 72 hours' notice, the final paycheck (including accrued vacation) must be made within 72 hours of quitting. The employee may request that his or her final wage payment be mailed to a designated address (for this purpose, the date of mailing is considered the date of payment).
Colorado

Colorado

Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2019, $11.10 per hour ($8.08 per hour for tipped employees). Effective January 1, 2020, $12.00 per hour ($8.98 per hour for tipped employees).

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: A tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference. Special Note Regarding Minor Employees: Unemancipated minors under 18 years of age may be paid 85% of the state minimum wage (less any applicable lawful credits) for all hours worked. However, where federal and state law have different minimum wage rates, the higher standard applies.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due immediately, unless the employer’s accounting unit is not regularly scheduled to be operational on the day of termination, in which case the employee must be paid no later than 6 hours after the start of the accounting department’s next regular workday. If the accounting unit is located off the work site, the paycheck must be paid no later than 24 hours after the start of the accounting unit's next regular workday.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the next regular payday.
Connecticut

Connecticut

Minimum Wage

Effective Jan. 1, 2017, Connecticut's minimum wage rate is $10.10 per hour. The gratuity allowance for certain waitpersons and bartenders is 36.8% of the minimum wage for waitpersons, and 18.5% for bartenders.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: If an employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.
Special Note Regarding Minor Employees: Subject to certain exceptions, the minimum hourly wage for an employee who is less than 18 years of age is 85% of the state minimum wage for the first 200 hours of employment, and is equal to the state minimum wage after 200 hours. However, where federal and state law have different minimum wage rates, the higher standard applies. Note: The Connecticut minimum wage rate automatically increases to 1/2 of 1 percent above the rate set in the Fair Labor Standards Act if the federal minimum wage rate equals or becomes higher than the Connecticut minimum wage.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due no later than the business day following the day of discharge.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due no later than the next regular payday, either through the regular payment channels or by mail.
Delaware

Delaware

Minimum Wage

$8.75 per hour, effective January 1, 2019; $9.25 per hour, effective October 1, 2019.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: A tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference. Special Note Regarding Training and Youth Wage: Effective January 1, 2019, an employer may pay $0.50 less than the minimum wage to an employee: During the first 90 consecutive calendar days of employment; or who is under 18 years of age.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due on the next regularly scheduled payday.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the next regularly scheduled payday.
District of Columbia

District of Columbia

Minimum Wage

The minimum hourly wage for non-tipped employees is expected to rise to: $14.00, beginning July 1, 2019; $15.00, beginning July 1, 2020. The minimum hourly wage for tipped employees is expected to rise to: $4.45, beginning July 1, 2019 $5.00, beginning July 1, 2020.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: If an employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference. Special Note Regarding Minor Employees: Individuals under the age of 18 may be paid the minimum wage established by the federal government.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is generally due on the next working day following discharge.

Note: In the instance of an employee who is responsible for monies belonging to the employer, the employer is allowed a period of 4 days from the date of discharge for the determination of the accuracy of the employee's accounts, at the end of which time all wages earned by the employee must be paid.
If employee quit: For employees not having a written contract of employment for a period in excess of 30 days, the final paycheck is generally due on the earlier of: The next regularly scheduled payday; or 7 days after resignation.

Note: In the instance of an employee who is responsible for monies belonging to the employer, the employer is allowed a period of 4 days from the date of resignation for the determination of the accuracy of the employee's accounts, at the end of which time all wages earned by the employee must be paid.
Florida

Florida

Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2019, $8.46 per hour ($5.44 per hour for tipped employees).

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: If an employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: No law exists.
If employee quit: No law exists.
Georgia

Georgia

Minimum Wage

Georgia's minimum wage rate is $5.15 per hour for employers with more than 5 employees. Employers subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act must comply with the federal minimum wage requirement of $7.25 per hour, as of July 24, 2009.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No (check applicable exceptions)

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: Georgia law does not address final paycheck requirements.
If employee quit: Georgia law does not address final paycheck requirements.
Hawaii

Hawaii

Minimum Wage

Hawaii's minimum wage rate is $10.10 per hour. Tipped employees. The maximum allowed tip credit toward the minimum wage is 75 cents per hour. If a tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $20 a month in tips, an employer may be able to pay tipped employees less than the applicable minimum wage by applying the tip credit.

Note: Minimum wage and overtime protections under Chapter 387 of the Wage and Hour Law generally apply to certain domestic workers. The law makes certain exceptions, including individuals employed in domestic services on a “casual basis” and individuals providing companionship services for the aged or infirm. Under a law in Hawaii, a hotel that applies a service charge for porterage services must distribute the service charge directly to its employees as tip income or clearly disclose to the purchaser of the services that the service charge is being used to pay for costs or expenses other than wages and tips of employees. 'Porterage' means the act of moving luggage, bags, or parcels between a guest room and a lobby, front desk, or any area with vehicular access at a hotel, hotel-condominium, or condominium-hotel.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due at the time of discharge, or the next working day if the discharge occurs at a time and under conditions which prevent an employer from making immediate payment.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due at the time of quitting (if the employee gives at least one pay period’s notice). Otherwise, the final paycheck is due no later than the next regular payday.
Idaho

Idaho

Minimum Wage

Effective July 24, 2009, Idaho's minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. Tipped Employees: Any employee engaged in an occupation in which he customarily and regularly receives more than thirty dollars ($30.00) a month in tips must be paid a minimum of $3.35 per hour. If an employee's tips combined with the employer's cash wage do not equal the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due:
  • Within 48 hours of receipt of an employee’s written request (weekends and holidays excluded); or
  • The sooner of the next payday or within 10 business days of separation.
Note: The state Department of Labor may, upon application showing good and sufficient reasons, grant an employer a temporary extension.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due:
  • Within 48 hours of receipt of an employee’s written request (weekends and holidays excluded); or
  • The sooner of the next payday or within 10 business days of separation. Note: The state Department of Labor may, upon application showing good and sufficient reasons, grant an employer a temporary extension.
Illinois

Illinois

Minimum Wage

Generally $8.25 per hour for employers with 4 or more employees. Tipped employees must be paid at least 60% of the applicable minimum wage (currently, at least $4.95 per hour). However, for the first 90 days of employment, tipped employees may be paid $4.65 per hour. Employees who do not receive tips may be paid $7.75 per hour for the first 90 days of employment. Employees under 18 years of age may be paid $7.75 per hour.

Chicago: Effective July 1, 2019, $13.00 per hour (tipped employee wage not yet determined); Cook County: Effective July 1, 2019, $12.00 per hour (tipped employee wage not yet determined). Effective July 1, 2020, $13.00 per hour (tipped employee wage not yet determined)

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due at the time of separation, if possible, but in no case later than the next regularly scheduled payday. When an employee requests in writing that his or her final compensation be paid by check and mailed, the employer must comply with this request.

Note: Commissions due at the time of termination of a contract between a sales representative and principal must be paid within 13 days of termination. Commissions that become due after termination must be paid within 13 days of the date they become due.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due at the time of separation, if possible, but in no case later than the next regularly scheduled payday. When an employee requests in writing that his or her final compensation be paid by check and mailed, the employer must comply with this request.
Indiana

Indiana

Minimum Wage

Effective July 24, 2009, Indiana's minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour and $2.13 per hour for tipped employees.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due on the next regularly scheduled payday.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the next regularly scheduled payday. If an employee quits and the employee's whereabouts or address are not known to the employer, the employer need not pay the employee until:
  • Ten business days have elapsed after the employee has made a demand for the wages due the employee;  or
  • the employee has furnished the employer with the employee's address where the wages may be sent or forwarded.
Iowa

Iowa

Minimum Wage

Iowa's minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour and $4.35 per hour for tipped employees.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: A tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes (unless employee is hired prior to July 1, 2005)

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due not later than the next regularly scheduled payday.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due not later than the next regularly scheduled payday.
Kansas

Kansas

Minimum Wage

Effective Jan. 1, 2010, Kansas's minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour and $2.13 per hour for tipped employees.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due no later than the next regular payday.

Note: Upon providing written notice and an explanation, an employer may deduct a portion of an employee’s final wages for certain purposes, including a deduction to recover the employer’s unreturned property provided to the employee in the course of the employer’s business. Such deductions cannot reduce wages below the minimum wage.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due no later than the next regular payday.

Note: Upon providing written notice and an explanation, an employer may deduct a portion of an employee’s final wages for certain purposes, including a deduction to recover the employer’s unreturned property provided to the employee in the course of the employer’s business. Such deductions cannot reduce wages below the minimum wage.
Kentucky

Kentucky

Minimum Wage

Kentucky's minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour and $2.13 per hour for tipped employees.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: A tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due on the later to occur of:
  • The next regular payday; or
  • 14 days.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the later to occur of:
  • The next regular payday; or
  • 14 days.
Louisiana

Louisiana

Minimum Wage

Louisiana does not have a state minimum wage law. Employers must comply with the federal minimum wage requirement of $7.25 per hour, effective July 24, 2009.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due on the earlier of:
  • On or before the next regular payday; or
  • 15 days following the date of discharge.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the earlier of:
  • On or before the next regular payday; or
  • 15 days following the date of resignation.
Maine

Maine

Minimum Wage

Starting January 1, 2019, the minimum hourly wage is $11.00 per hour ($5.50 for tipped employees); and starting January 1, 2020, the minimum hourly wage is $12.00 per hour ($6.00 for tipped employees).

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: A tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference. Note: A law in Maine restored the tip credit to Maine's minimum wage law. Under the law, an employer may consider tips as part of the wages of a service employee, but such a tip credit may not exceed 50% of the minimum hourly wage established understate law. An employer who elects to use the tip credit must inform the affected employee in advance (as provided in the text of the law), and must be able to show that the employee receives at least the minimum hourly wage when direct wages and the tip credit are combined within the established 7-day workweek. Affected employers with questions about the law's impact on workplace policies and practices should contact a knowledgeable employment law attorney. Portland Tipped Employees: If the tipped employee can show that his or her total wages (including tips) fall below the minimum wage, the employer is required to compensate the employee for the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: An employee who is involuntarily terminated must be paid in full no later than the employee's next established payday.
If employee quit: An employee who quits employment must be paid in full no later than the employee's next established payday.
Maryland

Maryland

Minimum Wage

$10.10 per hour for regular employees; $3.63 per hour for tipped employees.

Montgomery County: Effective July 1, 2019: Employers with 51 or more employees: $13.00 per hour for regular employees and $4.00 per hour for tipped employees; Employers with 11-50 employees: $12.50 per hour for regular employees and $4.00 per hour for tipped employees; Employers with 1-10 employees: $12.50 per hour for regular employees and $4.00 per hour fortipped employees. Effective July 1, 2020: Employers with 51 or more employees: $14.00 per hour for regular employees and $4.00 per hour for tipped employees Employers with 11-50 employees: $13.25 per hour for regular employees and $4.00 per hour for tipped employees Employers with 1-10 employees: $13.00 per hour for regular employees and $4.00 per hour for tipped employees.

Note Regarding Tipped Employees: If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due on or before the next payday.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on or before the next payday.
Massachusetts

Massachusetts

Minimum Wage

$12.00 per hour ($4.35 for tipped employees), beginning January 1, 2019; $12.75 per hour ($4.95 for tipped employees), beginning January 1, 2020; $13.50 per hour ($5.55 for tipped employees), beginning January 1, 2021; $14.25 per hour ($6.15 for tipped employees), beginning January 1, 2022; $15.00 per hour ($6.75 for tipped employees), beginning January 1, 2023.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: A tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $20 per month in tips. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference. Special Note Regarding Certain Students or Minor Workers: Employers in certain industries may be able to pay students or minors not less than 80% of the state minimum wage in certain instances.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final wage payment is generally due on the day of discharge. In Boston, the final paycheck is due as soon as the employer complies with the laws requiring certification of payrolls, bills and accounts.
If employee quit: The final wage payment is due on the next regular payday and, in the absence of a regular payday, on the following Saturday.
Michigan

Michigan

Minimum Wage

The current and future Michigan minimum wage rates below generally apply to employers with 2 or more employees who are at least 16 years old. $9.45 per hour ($3.60 per hour for tipped employees) in early 2019 (exact date not set); $9.65 per hour ($3.67 per hour for tipped employees), beginning January 1, 2020; $9.87 per hour ($3.75 per hour for tipped employees), beginning January 1, 2021; $10.10 per hour ($3.84 per hour for tipped employees), beginning January 1, 2022.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: If an employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference. The minimum wage rate for tipped employees applies if certain requirements are met.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due on the regularly scheduled payday for the period in which the termination occurs.

Note: Special rules may apply to individuals working under contract or engaged in the hand harvesting of crops.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the regularly scheduled payday for the period in which the separation occurs.

Note: Special rules may apply to individuals working under contract or engaged in the hand harvesting of crops.
Minnesota

Minnesota

Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2019: $8.04 per hour (employers with annual receipts of less than $500,000, employees younger than 20 years of age for the first 90 consecutive days of employment, and employees younger than 18 years of age); $9.86 per hour (employers with annual receipts of $500,000 or more).

Minnapolis: Effective July 1, 2019: $11.00 per hour (employers with 100 or fewer employees); $12.25 per hour (employers with more than 100 employees). Effective July 1, 2020: $11.75 per hour (employers with 100 or fewer employees); $13.25 per hour (employers with more than 100 employees). Effective July 1, 2021: $12.50 per hour (employers with 100 or fewer employees); $14.25 per hour (employers with more than 100 employees). Effective July 1, 2022:; $13.50 per hour (employers with 100 or fewer employees); $15.00 per hour (employers with more than 100 employees).

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Private sector: No, Public Sector: special circumstances may apply for state employees

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due immediately or within 24 hours of demand.

Exceptions:
  • If the discharged employee was entrusted with money or property during employment, the employer has an additional 10 calendar days after the date of separation to audit the accounts of the employee before the employee's wages are to be paid.
  • If the employer terminates a commissioned salesperson, the employer must pay the salesperson's commissions earned through the last day of employment on demand no later than 3 working days after the salesperson's last day of work.
If employee quit: If an employee quits, the final paycheck is due within the next pay period that is more than five days after the employee quits. However, wages must be paid no later than 20 days after the employee quits.

Exceptions:
  • If a quitting employee was entrusted with money or property during employment, the employer has an additional 10 calendar days after the date of separation to audit the accounts of the employee before the employee's wages are to be paid.
  • If a commissioned salesperson resigns giving at least 5 days' written notice, the employer must pay the salesperson's commissions earned through the last day of employment on demand no later than 3 working days after the last day of work.
  • If the salesperson resigns without giving at least 5 days' written notice, the employer must pay the salesperson's commissions earned through the last day of employment on demand no later than 6 working days after the last day of work.
Mississippi

Mississippi

Minimum Wage

Mississippi does not have a state minimum wage law. Employers must comply with the federal minimum wage requirement of $7.25 per hour, effective July 24, 2009.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No regulations regarding direct deposit

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: No law exists.
If employee quit: No law exists.
Missouri

Missouri

Minimum Wage

$8.60 per hour ($4.30 per hour for tipped employees), effective January 1, 2019; $9.45 per hour ($4.725 per hour for tipped employees), effective January 1, 2020; $10.30 per hour ($5.15 per hour for tipped employees), effective January 1, 2021; $11.15 per hour ($5.575 per hour for tipped employees), effective January 1, 2022; $12.00 per hour ($6.00 per hour for tipped employees), effective January 1, 2023.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No regulations regarding direct deposit

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is generally due on the day of discharge.

Exception: This requirement generally does not apply in the case of an employee whose remuneration is based primarily on commissions and whose duties include collection of accounts, care of a stock or merchandise and similar activities, and where an audit is necessary or customary in order to determine the net amount due.
If employee quit: Missouri law does not address final paycheck requirements if an employee quits.
Montana

Montana

Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2019: $8.50 per hour.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is generally due immediately upon separation unless the employer has a written personnel policy that extends the time for payment of final wages to the employee’s next regular payday for the period or to within 15 days from the separation, whichever occurs first.

Note: When an employee is discharged by reason of an allegation of theft of property or funds connected to the employee's work, the employer may withhold from the employee's final paycheck an amount sufficient to cover the value of the theft if certain requirements are met.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the earlier to occur of: The next regular payday; or 15 days from the date of separation from employment.
Nebraska

Nebraska

Minimum Wage

Nebraska's minimum wage rate is $9.00 per hour for employers with 4 or more employees, and $2.13 per hour for tipped employees.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: If an employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Under the Nebraska Wage Payment & Collection Act, Nebraska employers are required, on each regular payday, to deliver or make available to each employee (by mail or electronically) or provide, at the employee’s normal place of employment during employment hours for all shifts, a wage statement showing (at a minimum) the: Identity of the employer; Hours for which the employee was paid; Wages earned by the employee; and Deductions made for the employee. However, the employer need not provide information on hours worked for employees who are exempt from overtime under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, unless the employer has established a policy or practice of paying to (or on behalf of) exempt employees overtime, or bonus or a payment based on hours worked. In such instances, the employer must send or otherwise provide a statement to exempt employees showing hours worked or the payments made.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No regulations regarding direct deposit

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is generally due on the sooner of:
  • The next regular payday; or
  • Within 2 weeks of termination.
Note: Special rules may apply to employees who receive commission.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is generally due on the sooner of:
  • The next regular payday; or
  • Within 2 weeks of termination.
Note: Special rules may apply to employees who receive commission.
Nevada

Nevada

Minimum Wage

Nevada's minimum wage rate is $8.25 per hour and $7.25 per hour for employees to whom qualifying health benefits have been made available by the employer. These rates remain unchanged for 2018.

Note: Under Nevada law, the relationship between a principal and an independent contractor does not constitute an employment relationship, and therefore is not subject to the state’s minimum wage provisions. The law also establishes certain criteria for the conclusive presumption of independent contractor status under state law. Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: In Nevada, tips may not be applied as credit toward the payment of the statutory minimum wage. An employer cannot pay tipped employees less than the applicable minimum wage. Special Note Regarding Domestic Workers: A domestic worker generally must – for all of his or her working time – be paid at least the state minimum hourly wage published under the Nevada Constitution (subject to the provisions of state law (Chapter 608)).

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: Final wages become due immediately. If an employer fails to pay the wages or compensation of a discharged employee within three days after the wages or compensation of the discharged employee become due, the wages or compensation of the employee will continue at the same rate from the day the employee was discharged until paid or for 30 days, whichever is less.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the earlier to occur of:
  • The next scheduled payday; or
  • Within 7 days.
If an employer fails to pay the wages or compensation due to an employee who resigns or quits on the day the wages or compensation is due to that employee, the wages or compensation of the employee will continue at the same rate from the day the employee resigned or quit until paid for 30 days, whichever is less.
New Hampshire

New Hampshire

Minimum Wage

The New Hampshire minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. Under New Hampshire law, unless otherwise provided by statute, no person, firm or corporation can employ any employee at an hourly rate lower that that set forth in the federal minimum wage law, which is $7.25 per hour. These limitations do not apply to employees engaged in household labor, domestic labor, farm labor, outside sales representatives, summercamps for minors, newspaper carriers, non-professional ski patrol and golf caddies.

Note: Under a new law effective as of November 1, 2016, the state minimum wage law provisions are no longer applicable to employees of ski areas who exclusively perform welcoming and guest relation services at a ski area which are not essential to the functional operations of a ski area. Under state law, a tipped employee of a restaurant, hotel, motel, inn, cabin, or ballroom (i.e. an indoor facility which has seating accommodations for at least 500 patrons, provides live entertainment, and is licensed by the New Hampshire liquor commission) who customarily and regularly receives more than $30 a month in tips directly from the customer will receive a base rate from the employer of not less than 45% of the applicable minimum wage. Note: An employer may not pay a tipped employee, as described in state law, who is not engaged in duties that regularly and customarily generate tips directly from the customer, a base rate of less than the applicable minimum wage. This prohibition does not apply to duties that are incidental to the regular duties of the tipped employee and generally assigned to the tipped employees.

Tips are wages and are the property of the employee receiving the tip and must beretained by the employee, unless the employee voluntarily and without coercion from his or her employer agrees to participate in a tip pooling or tip sharing arrangement. No employer is prevented from administering a valid tip pooling or tip sharing arrangement at the request of the employee, including suggesting reasonable andcustomary practices, and mediating disputes between employees regarding a valid tip pooling or tip sharing arrangement. 'Tip pooling' means the voluntary practice by which the tip earnings of directly tipped employees within the same job category are intermingled in a common pool and then redistributed among participating employees. 'Tip sharing' means the practice by which a directly tipped employee gives a portion of his or her tips to another worker who participated in providing service to customers. Note: Effective as of September 3, 2017, nothing precludes employee participants in a tip pool from agreeing (voluntarily and without coercion) to provide a portion of the common pool to other employees, regardless of job category, who participated in providing service to customers.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is generally due within 72 hours of the time of termination. If an employee is laid off, the final paycheck must be paid by the next regular payday.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is generally due no later than the next regular payday, except that if the employee gives at least one pay period's notice of his or her intention to quit, the employer must pay all wages earned by the employee within 72 hours.
New Jersey

New Jersey

Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2019, $8.85 per hour.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: If an employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due by the next regular payday.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due by the next regular payday.
New Mexico

New Mexico

Minimum Wage

$7.50 per hour; $2.13 per hour for tipped employees.

Albuquerque: Effective January 1, 2019, $9.20 per hour. However, the minimum wage will be $8.20 per hour if the employer provides healthcare and/or childcare benefits to the employee during any pay period and the employer pays an amount for these benefits equal to or in excess of $2,500 annually. For tipped employees, effective January 1, 2019, the minimum wage will be $5.50 per hour; Bernalillo County: Effective January 1, 2019, $9.05 per hour. This wage will apply to employees who work within the unincorporated area of Bernalillo County, outside of the city limits. For employers who provide healthcare and/or childcare benefits to an employee during any pay period for which the employer pays an amount for those healthcare benefits equal to or in excess of $2,500 annually, the minimum wage for that employee will be an hourly rate of $1.00 less than the minimum wage otherwise applicable to employees who do not receive such benefits. For tipped employees, effective January 1, 2019, the minimum wage will be $2.13 per hour; Las Cruces: Effective January 1, 2019, the minimum wage in Las Cruces will be $10.10 per hour. For tipped employees, the minimum hourly wage will be $4.04 per hour; Santa Fe (city): $11.40 per hour. For tipped employees, tips count toward the minimum wage; Santa Fe (county): $11.40 per hour. For tipped employees, the minimum hourly wage is $3.41 per hour.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: A tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No (check applicable exceptions)

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: Unpaid wages, if a fixed and definite amount (not based on a task, piece, commission basis or other method of calculation), become due immediately on demand and must be paid within 5 days of discharge. In all other cases, the payment of wages must be made within 10 days of discharge.
If employee quit: If an employee (not having a written contract for a definite period) quits, the final paycheck is due at the next succeeding payday.
New York

New York

Minimum Wage

Beginning December 31, 2019: $11.80 per hour; for fast food workers, $13.75 per hour.

New York City: For employers with 10 or fewer employees, $15.00 per hour; Westchester, Nassau, and Suffolk Counties: $13.00 per hour, for fast food workers, $13.75 per hour.

Special Note on Tipped Employees: Under state law, a specified allowance may be credited toward the minimum wage for tips earned. The minimum wage for tipped workers in the hospitality industry may vary by location and employer size. Employers must give careful attention to the wage order applicable to their business to ensure they take the appropriate allowance.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due by the next regular payday. If the employee so requests, the wages must be mailed.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due by the next regular payday. If the employee so requests, the wages must be mailed.
North Carolina

North Carolina

Minimum Wage

North Carolina's minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour and $2.13 per hour for tipped employees.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: If an employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due on or before the next regular payday. Wages based on bonuses, commissions or other forms of calculation must be paid on the first regular payday after the amount becomes calculable.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on or before the next regular payday. Wages based on bonuses, commissions or other forms of calculation must be paid on the first regular payday after the amount becomes calculable.
North Dakota

North Dakota

Minimum Wage

North Dakota's minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour and $4.86 per hour for tipped employees.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: A tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due on the next regular payday.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the next regular payday.
Ohio

Ohio

Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2019, $8.55 per hour ($4.30 per hour for tipped employees).

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: A tipped employee is an employee who engages in an occupation in which he/she customarily and regularly receives more than $30.00 per month in tips. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference. Special Note Regarding Minor Employees: For employees at smaller companies (with annual gross receipts of $305,000 or less per year) and for 14- and 15-year-olds, the state minimum wage can be no less than the current federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No regulations regarding direct deposit

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: No law exists.
If employee quit: No law exists.
Oklahoma

Oklahoma

Minimum Wage

Effective July 24, 2009, Oklahoma's minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour (for employers with at least 10 full-time employees or equivalent and/or gross more than $100,000 annually).

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: When computing the minimum wage for tipped employees, employers must credit tips, gratuities, meals or lodging, but may not credit these for more than 50% of the required wage. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes (special circumstances may apply)

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due on the next regular payday, unless provided otherwise by a collective bargaining agreement.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the next regular payday, unless provided otherwise by a collective bargaining agreement.
Oregon

Oregon

Minimum Wage

Effective July 1, 2019, $11.25 per hour. Effective July 1, 2020, $12.00 per hour. Effective July 1, 2021, $12.75 per hour. Effective July 1, 2022, $13.50 per hour.

Portland Metropolitan Area: Effective July 1, 2019, $12.50 per hour. Effective July 1, 2020, $13.25 per hour. Effective July 1, 2021, $14.00 per hour. Effective July 1, 2022, $14.75 per hour; Non-Urban Counties: Effective July 1, 2019, $11.00 per hour. Effective July 1, 2020, $11.50 per hour. Effective July 1, 2021, $12.00 per hour. Effective July 1, 2022, $12.50 per hour.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due by the end of the first business day after termination.
If employee quit: If an employee provides 48 hours' or more notice, the final paycheck is due on the final day of work, unless the final day falls on a weekend or holiday, in which case the check is due on the next business day. If an employee quits with fewer than 48 hours' notice, the final check is due within 5 days, excluding weekends and holidays, or the next regular payday, whichever occurs first.
Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania

Minimum Wage

Effective July 24, 2009, Pennsylvania's minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. Tipped employees: An employer may pay a minimum of $2.83 per hour to an employee who makes $30.00 per month in tips. The employer must make up the difference if the tips and $2.83 do not meet the regular Pennsylvania minimum wage.

Note regarding state contractors and state contracts: Under an Executive Order signed by the governor on March 7, 2016, the minimum wage for certain state contractors has increased to $10.15 per hour. All employees covered by the Executive Order (other than tipped employees) must be paid at least $10.15 per hour. (Note: Beginning January 1, 2017, the minimum wage for employees of organizations receiving certain state contracts will be annually adjusted for inflation.) The Order takes effect on the effective date of the applicable contract or lease solicited or bilaterally modified on or after July 1, 2016. Employees covered by the Executive Order include those who: Directly perform services or construction; Directly perform services for Pennsylvania and are employed by a lessor of property to the Commonwealth; or Spend at least 20% of their working time in a given work week performing an ancillary service called for in a new lease of property or contract for services or construction exceeding the applicable small purchase threshold entered into with a Commonwealth agency under the jurisdiction of the Governor – including bilateral modifications to existing such leases or contracts – after the effective date of the Executive Order. Note: Employees exempt from the minimum wage under the Pennsylvania Minimum Wage Act are not covered by the Executive Order. The Executive Order does not contravene or supersede: Any state or federal law or collective bargaining agreement; or Any state or local policy requiring a covered employee to be paid more than the minimum wage required by the Executive Order. The Order also covers certain state agencies.

Special Note Regarding Certain Students and Learners: Employers may be able to pay certain students and learners less than the minimum wage upon application with the state Department of Labor and Industry.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: An employer may pay a minimum of $2.83 per hour to an employee who makes more than $30 per month in tips. The employer must make up the difference if the tips and $2.83 do not meet the regular Pennsylvania minimum wage.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No regulations regarding mandatory direct deposit

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due no later than the next regular payday.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due no later than the next regular payday.
Rhode Island

Rhode Island

Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2019, $10.50 per hour ($3.89 per hour for tipped employees).

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: If an employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is generally due on the next regular payday. If the termination is due to the liquidating of the business, merger of the business, disposing of the business, or removing the business out of state, all wages become immediately due and payable within 24 hours of the time of separation.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the next regular payday.
South Carolina

South Carolina

Minimum Wage

South Carolina does not have a state minimum wage law. Employers must comply with the federal minimum wage requirement of $7.25 per hour.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due:
  • Within 48 hours of the day of separation; or
  • The next regularly scheduled payday, not to exceed 30 days.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due:
  • Within 48 hours of the day of separation; or
  • The next regularly scheduled payday, not to exceed 30 days.
South Dakota

South Dakota

Minimum Wage

Starting January 1, 2019, the minimum hourly wage is $9.10 per hour ($4.55 per hour for tipped employees).

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due on the next regular payday.

Note: The employer may hold back the final paycheck until the employee returns any property that belongs to the employer.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is generally due on the next regular payday, for employees that do not have a written contract for a definite period.

Note: The employer may hold back the final paycheck until the employee returns any property that belongs to the employer.
Tennessee

Tennessee

Minimum Wage

Tennessee does not have a state minimum wage law. Employers must comply with the federal minimum wage requirement of $7.25 per hour.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes (check applicable exceptions)

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due no later than the next regular payday, not to exceed 21 days from the date of discharge.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due no later than the next regular payday, not to exceed 21 days from the date of voluntary leaving.
Texas

Texas

Minimum Wage

The Texas minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour and $2.13 per hour for tipped employees.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: A tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Special Note Regarding Minor and Student Employees: An employer is exempt from the Texas minimum wage laws with respect to the employment of a person who: Is less than 18 years of age and is not a high school graduate or a graduate of a vocational training program (other than a person employed in agriculture whose pay is computed on a piece rate); Is less than 20 years of age and is a student regularly enrolled in a high school, college, university, or vocational training program (other than a person employed in agriculture whose pay is computed on a piece rate); or Has a disability and who is: Not more than 21 years of age; A client of vocational rehabilitation; and Participating in a cooperative school-work program.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck – including payouts of accrued leave if promised in a written policy or agreement – is due within 6 days of termination.
If employee quit: The final paycheck – including payouts of accrued leave if promised in a written policy or agreement – is due on the next regularly scheduled payday following the effective date of resignation.
Utah

Utah

Minimum Wage

Utah's minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour and $2.13 per hour for tipped employees.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: A tipped employee customarily and regularly receives at least $30 per month in tips. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes (check applicable exceptions)

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is generally due within 24 hours of separation. An employer satisfies such requirement if:
  • The employer mails the wages to the employee, and the envelope that contains the wages is postmarked with a date that is no more than one day after the day on which the employer separates the employee from payroll; or
  • Within 24 hours after the employer separates the employee from payroll, the employer:
    • Initiates a direct deposit of the wages into the employee's account; or
    • Hand delivers the wages to the employee.
Note: For a sales agent employed in whole or in part on a commission basis who has custody of the employer's accounts, money, or goods, the state final paycheck law (summarized above) does not apply to the commission-based portion of the sales agent's earnings if the net amount due the agent is determined only after an audit or verification of sales, accounts, funds, or stocks.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is generally due on the next regular payday. Note: For a sales agent employed in whole or in part on a commission basis who has custody of the employer's accounts, money, or goods, the state final paycheck law (summarized above) does not apply to the commission-based portion of the sales agent's earnings if the net amount due the agent is determined only after an audit or verification of sales, accounts, funds, or stocks.
Vermont

Vermont

Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2019, $10.78 per hour ($5.39 per hour for tipped employees).

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: A tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $120 per month in tips. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due within 72 hours of discharge.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the last regular payday, or if there is no regular payday, on the following Friday.
Virginia

Virginia

Minimum Wage

Virginia's minimum wage rate for employers with 4 or more employees is $7.25 per hour.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due on or before the next regular payday.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on or before the next regular payday.
Washington

Washington

Minimum Wage

Beginning January 1, 2019: $12.00 per hour; Beginning January 1, 2020: $13.50 per hour; and Beginning January 1, 2021 (and each following January 1st), the minimum wage will be adjusted for inflation.

Seattle: Effective January 1, 2019: Employers with 501 or more employees must pay a minimum wage of $16.00 per hour. Employers with 500 or fewer employeesmust pay a minimum wage of $15.00 per hour. These employers can meet this requirement by paying no less than $12.00 per hour in wages and contributing at least $3.00 per hour toward an employee's medical benefits and/or reported tips; Tacoma: $12.35 per hour, effective January 1, 2019.

Note: An employer generally must pay its employees all tips, gratuities, and service charges. Tips and service charges paid to an employee are in addition to, and may not count towards, the employee's hourly minimum wage.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due on the next regularly scheduled payday.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due on the next regularly scheduled payday.
West Virginia

West Virginia

Minimum Wage

West Virginia's minimum wage rate is $8.75 per hour.

Employers may take up to a 70% credit, or $6.13 per hour, against the required minimum wage rate for employees who customarily receive tips, resulting in a reduced hourly wage rate of at least $2.62 per hour.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: To qualify for the credit, employers must ensure that the employees’ tips and the reduced hourly wage rate equal at least the required minimum wage rate and must keep accurate records of employees’ tips.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes (State Institutions for Higher Education only)

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: If an employee is terminated, the employer must pay his or her final wages due for work performed prior to the separation on or before the next regular payday on which the wages would otherwise be due and payable. When work of any employee is suspended as a result of a labor dispute, or when an employee for any reason whatsoever is laid off, the employer must pay in full to the employee not later than the next regular payday – either through the regular pay channels or by mail if requested by the employee – wages earned at the time of suspension or layoff.
If employee quit: If an employee quits or resigns, the employer must pay his or her final wages due for work performed prior to the separation on or before the next regular payday on which the wages would otherwise be due and payable.
Wisconsin

Wisconsin

Minimum Wage

Effective July 24, 2009, Wisconsin's minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour and $2.33 per hour for tipped employees.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: If an employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? Yes

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is generally due on the earlier of:
  • The next day on which the employee regularly would have been paid under the employer's established payroll schedule; or
  • Within one month.
Note: Different rules may apply to certain sales agents employed on a commission basis.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is generally due on the earlier of:
  • The next day on which the employee regularly would have been paid under the employer's established payroll schedule; or
  • Within one month.
Note: Different rules may apply to certain sales agents employed on a commission basis.
Wyoming

Wyoming

Minimum Wage

Employers subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act must comply with the federal minimum wage requirement of $7.25 per hour, as of July 24, 2009.

Special Note Regarding Tipped Employees: A tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips. If the employee's tips and the cash wage do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

Direct Deposit

Can employer force direct deposit? No

Final Paycheck

If employee was fired: The final paycheck is due no later than the employer's usual practice on regularly scheduled payroll dates (i.e., the employee must be paid as scheduled for regular payroll) or at a time specified under the terms of a collective bargaining agreement between the employer and the employee.
If employee quit: The final paycheck is due no later than the employer's usual practice on regularly scheduled payroll dates (i.e., the employee must be paid as scheduled for regular payroll) or at a time specified under the terms of a collective bargaining agreement between the employer and the employee.

Federal Rules

Minimum Wage
Minimum Wage $7.25
Tipped Minimum Wage $2.13
Employers are required to follow Federal minimum wage rules when State minimum wage is less than the Federal minimum wage.
FICA (Medicare)
Maximum Taxable Earnings No Limit
Employee / Employer Tax Rate 1.45%
Additional Medicare Tax Withholding on Wages > $200,000
(No Employer Match)
0.9%
FICA (Social Security)
Maximum Taxable Earnings
(Increased from $128,000 for 2018)
$132,900
Employee / Employer Tax Rate
(Results to $8,239.80 being the max able to be withheld)
6.2%
FUTA (Employer-Paid)
Maximum Taxable Earnings $7,000
Percent of Taxable Wages 6.0%
Maximum Credit
(Results to a normal net tax of 0.6%)
5.4%
Supplemental Wage / Bonus Rates
Flat rate withholding method
(Decreased from 2018)
22%
Pay over $1 million
(Decreased from 2018)
37%
Health Savings Accounts
Self-Only Contribution Limit (Employee & Employer)
(Increased from $3,450 in 2018)
$3,500
Family Contribution Limit (Employee & Employer)
(Increased from $6,900 in 2018)
$7,000
Catch-up Contribution Limit (Employee & Employer)
(Unchanged from 2018)
$1,000
Retirement Plans
Contribution Limit – 401(k) & 403(b) plans
(Up from $18,500 in 2018)
$19,000
Catch-up Contribution Limit – 401(k) & 403(b) plans $6,000
Contribution Limit – Simple IRA
(Up from $12,500 in 2018)
$13,000
Catch-up Contribution Limit – Simple IRA
(Unchanged from 2018)
$3,000
Mileage Rates
Business 58 cents/mile
Medical
20 cents/mile
Moving
20 cents/mile
Charitable
14 cents/mile