Rhode Island State Facts

Rhode Island Effective 1/1/2022   Federal Effective 7/24/2009

Rhode Island Department of Labor Webpage

Rhode Island Final Paycheck Law
Fired:                                                                                  The final paycheck is generally due on the next regular payday. If the termination is due to the liquidating of the business, merger of the business, disposing of the business, or removing the business out of state, all wages become immediately due and payable within 24 hours of the time of separation.
Quit: The final paycheck is due on the next regular payday.
Rhode Island Direct Deposit Law
Force Direct Deposit: No   
Rhode Island Minimum Wage
Minimum Wage $12.25
Minimum Cash Wage(Tipped Employee) $3.89
Youth Minimum Wage Various rates
Rhode Island State Income Tax
Wage Withholding             Tables
Rhode Island Unemployment Insurance
Maximum 2022 Taxable Earnings (Unchanged from 2021) $24,600 Tier I Employers           
Maximum 2022 Taxable Earnings (Unchanged from 2021) $26,100 Tier II Employers
Employee 2022 Deduction None
Employer 2022 Tax Rates 1.2 – 9.8%
Standard 2022 New Employer Rate (Includes 0.21% Job Development Assessment) 1.19%