Massachusetts State Facts

Massachusetts Effective 1/1/2022   Federal Effective 7/24/2009

Massachusetts Department of Labor Webpage

Massachusetts Final Paycheck Law
Fired:                                                                                                           Immediately.
Quit: Whichever is next: paycheck or the Saturday that follows an employee’s resignation.
Massachusetts Direct Deposit Law
Force Direct Deposit: Yes
Massachusetts Minimum Wage
Minimum Wage $14.25        
Minimum Cash Wage(Tipped Employee) $6.15
Massachusetts State Income Tax
Wage Withholding                    Tables
Massachusetts Unemployment Insurance
Maximum 2022 Taxable Earnings(Unchanged from 2021) $15,000
Employee 2022 Deduction None
Employer 2022 Tax Rates(Plus 0.59% solvency assessment, 0.056% workforce training fund, and a COVID-19 Recovery Assessment equal to  12.50% of Employer’s UI Experience rate) 0.94 –                       14.37%
Standard 2022 New Employer Rate(Plus 0.59% solvency assessment, 0.056% workforce training fund surcharge, a COVID-19 Recovery Assessment equal to 12.50% of Employer’s UI Experience Rate) 2.42%