California State Facts

California Final Paycheck Law
Fired: If an employee is involuntarily terminated, the final paycheck (including accrued vacation) is due immediately at the time of termination.
Quit: If the employee quits with at least 72 hours’ notice, and quits on the day given in the notice, the final paycheck (including accrued vacation) must be provided at the time of quitting. If the employee quits with less than 72 hours’ notice, the final paycheck (including accrued vacation) must be made within 72 hours of quitting. The employee may request that his or her final wage payment be mailed to a designated address (for this purpose, the date of mailing is considered the date of payment).
California Direct Deposit Law
Can you force direct deposit: No
California Minimum Wage
Fired: If an employee is involuntarily terminated, the final paycheck (including accrued vacation) is due immediately at the time of termination.
Quit: If the employee quits with at least 72 hours’ notice, and quits on the day given in the notice, the final paycheck (including accrued vacation) must be provided at the time of quitting. If the employee quits with less than 72 hours’ notice, the final paycheck (including accrued vacation) must be made within 72 hours of quitting. The employee may request that his or her final wage payment be mailed to a designated address (for this purpose, the date of mailing is considered the date of payment).
California State Income Tax
Wage Withholding Tables
California Unemployment Insurance
Maximum 2022 Taxable Earnings(Unchanged from 2021) $7,000
Employee 2022 Deduction None
Employer 2022 Tax Rates(Plus 0.1% employment training tax assessed on most employers) 1.5 – 6.2%
Standard 2022 New Employer Rate(Plus 0.1% employment training tax) 3.40%

*For employers with 26 or more employees. For employers with 25 or fewer employees, the minimum wage and minimum cash wage (tipped employee) is $14.00 an hour effective 1/1/21. California does not have a tip credit.

Fede

California Mandated Retirement Plan
Federal Tax Facts

 Federal Minimum Wage Effective 7/24/2009

Federal Minimum Wage
Minimum Wage $7.25                
Minimum Cash Wage(Tipped Employee) $2.13
Youth Minimum Wage $4.25
FICA (Medicare)
Maximum Taxable Earnings No Limit                                              
Employee / Employer Tax Rate (Unchanged from 2019) 1.45%
Additional Medicare Tax Withholding on Wages > $200,000(No Employer Match) 0.90%
FICA (Social Security)
Maximum Taxable Earnings (Increased from $142,800 in 2021 $147,000                             
Employee / Employer Tax Rate(Unchanged from 2021) 6.20%
FUTA (Employer-Paid)
Maximum Taxable Earnings $7,000   
Health Savings Accounts
Self-Only Contribution Limit (Employee / Employer)(Increased from $3,600 in 2021) $3,650                                               
Family Contribution Limit (Employee / Employer)(Increased from $7,200 in 2021) $7,300
Catch-up Contribution Limit (Employee / Employer)(Unchanged from 2021) $1,000
Pension Plans
Contribution Limit – 401(k) & 403(b) plans(Increased from $19,500 in 2021) $20,500                                                       
Catch-up Contribution Limit – 401(k) & 403(b) plans (age 50 or older) (Unchanged from 2021) $6,500

Get started with Journey

6 + 14 =